Thrandeston sign
The History of Thrandeston

Thrandeston picture

THRANDESTON IS a parish and scattered village, 2½ miles south from Diss station and 2 north-east from Mellis station on the Ipswich and Norwich section of the Great Eastern railway and 3 north-west from Eye, in the North Eastern division of the county, Hartismere hundred, petty sessions: division and union, Eye county court district, rural deanery of North Hartismere, archdeaconry of Suffolk and diocese of Norwich. The church of St. Margaret is a handsome building of flint with stone dressings, in the Decorated and Perpendicular styles, consisting of chancel, nave with clerestory, aisles, north and south porches and an embattled western tower containing 5 bells: the east window and four others in chancel are stained, and were erected as memorials to members of the French family: both the chancel and tower are divided from the nave by handsome carved screens: the reredos was erected in 1870 in memory of Thomas French esq: the font is ancient and there is a carved oak eagle lectern and several armorial shields to the families of Rix and Blakeby ..... [Kelly’s Directory of Suffolk, 1912 ]

The sections below will take you to what we currently have about the history of Thrandeston.

A group has been set up to explore the history of the village. The Thrandeston History Group is to research the physical and social history the village and its inhabitants.

Currently available data for Thrandeston
(Use the searches to find individual records )



  [ Home ] [ Local ]  

web counter
Page last updated: 17 Nov 2022
© Diss Family History Group & Nigel Peacock 2022